La Cité de la Voix


La Cité de la Voix in Vézelay is a unique place full of history. In 1698, the administration of King Louis XIV decided to unite in one place and in Vézelay the three surrounding maladreries, in a property located at the top of the city, «the Pierre Rollet House». Maintaining its function as a hospital for nearly three centuries, in the 1960s the institution became a retirement home, to which a light psychiatric unit was added a little later. The construction of a new reception building for people with disabilities, instead of “la Maladrerie”, resulted in the permanent closure of its doors.


In 1999, the vocal ensemble Arsys Bourgogne and the festival of Rencontres Musicales de Vézelay were seeking a place to implant their nascent activities. The Regional Council of Bourgogne buys the abandoned hospital and renovates it with the support of Europe and the Ministry of Culture and Communication. After several years of work, the renovated hospital becomes La Cité de la Voix and opens its doors in 2010.

Since 2012, an artistic residency program, a public season and cultural actions across the region has been developing. In 2015, Arsys Bourgogne, Les Rencontres Musicales de Vézelay and the activities of the Cité de la Voix merged to create a single public establishment. In 2019, the activities of Arsys Burgundy stop. In 2020, La Cité de la Voix, the Pôle Voix du lab and Franche-Comté mission voix merge and give way to the establishment «Cité de la Voix Vézelay/ Bourgogne-Franche-Comté» which radiates throughout the regional territory.