Arsys Bourgogne

Arsys Bourgogne
Arsys Bourgogne © Conrad Schmitz

Directed by the young conductor Mihály Zeke, Arsys Bourgogne is a vocal ensemble whose mission is to perform everything from early choral music to contemporary compositions. Founded in 1999 by Pierre Cao, who conducted the ensemble for 15 years, Arsys Bourgogne has a rich history filled with quality and excellence. The ensemble is comprised of 8 to 16 singers and takes on six centuries of a cappella vocal repertoire as well as choral works with orchestra.

Since taking on the artistic direction in 2015, Mihály Zeke has brought Arsys Bourgogne into new and original choral music experiences. He is interested in forging links between Early and New music by creating strong relationships with today’s composers, such as Alexandros Markeas and Benoît Menut.

From Claudio Monteverdi to Olivier Messiaen, through Johann Sebastian Bach Giacinto Scelsi and Philippe Hersant, Arsys Bourgogne’s programs showcase composers from different eras in order to bring a new sense of meaning to each work. The ensemble also proposes new multidisciplinary programs that have elements of dramaturgy and staging.

With a rich history of performing oratorios, Arsys pursues collaborations with well-known ensembles such as La Fenice, Les Surprises and accentus. These joint efforts enhance and expand the ensemble’s repertoire and allow for performances of works such as the Monteverdi Vespers, Handel’s Dixit Dominus or Mozart’s Vesperae solennes de confessore.

Arsys Bourgogne is strongly committed to pedagogical activities and provides professional development to young singers who are enrolled in Music Conservatories or Écoles Supérieures de Musiques, such as the ESM Bourgogne-Franche-Comté.

Arsys Bourgogne rehearses and performs regularly in Vézelay with rehearsals open to the public and concerts in the Rencontres Musicales de Vézelay. Since 2015, Arsys Bourgogne has become a part of the «Public Establishment, La Cité de la Voix.

Arsys Bourgogne is supported by the Regional Council of Bourgogne-Franche-Comté, the Ministry of Culture and Communication (DRAC Bourgogne-Franche-Comté) the Departmental Council of the Yonne.

Download Arys Bourgogne’s biography

Arsys Bourgogne

Arsys Bourgogne © Conrad Schmitz

Dirigé par le jeune chef Mihály Zeke, Arsys Bourgogne est un ensemble vocal qui a pour vocation  d’interpréter tout autant la musique ancienne que la création la plus contemporaine. Fondé en 1999 et dirigé pendant 15 ans par Pierre Cao, Arsys Bourgogne est déjà riche d’une belle histoire marquée par la qualité et l’excellence. L’ensemble est aujourd’hui composé de 8 à 16 chanteurs et aborde six siècles de répertoire vocal a cappella ou avec instruments.

Depuis l’arrivée de Mihály Zeke en 2015, Arsys Bourgogne propose de nouvelles expériences stimulantes et originales dans le domaine de la musique chorale. Le chef tisse un lien entre la musique ancienne et contemporaine en nouant de fortes relations avec les compositeurs d’aujourd’hui, tels qu’Alexandros Markeas ou Benoît Menut.

De Claudio Monteverdi à Olivier Messiaen, en passant par Johann Sebastian Bach, Giacinto Scelsi ou Philippe Hersant, les programmes d’Arsys Bourgogne mêlent compositeurs et époques afin d’offrir un nouveau sens aux œuvres. L’ensemble propose ainsi de nouvelles créations pluridisciplinaires intégrant des éléments de dramaturgie et de spatialisation.

Riche de son histoire et de son expérience dans le répertoire de l’oratorio, Arsys poursuit ses collaborations avec des ensembles réputés, tels que La Fenice, Les Surprises ou encore le chœur accentus. Ces rencontres artistiques enrichissent le répertoire et permettent l’interprétation des grandes œuvres chorales telles que les Vêpres de Monteverdi, le Dixit Dominus de Haendel ou encore les Vêpres d’un confesseur de Mozart.

Fortement engagé dans le domaine pédagogique, Arsys Bourgogne propose des actions d’insertion professionnelle aux jeunes chanteurs en cours de formation dans les conservatoires et écoles supérieures de musique, notamment l’ESM Bourgogne-Franche-Comté.

Arsys Bourgogne répète et se produit régulièrement à Vézelay dans le cadre des Rencontres Musicales de Vézelay ou de répétitions publiques. Arsys Bourgogne est partie intégrante de l’établissement public “Cité de la Voix”.

Arsys Bourgogne est soutenu par le conseil régional de Bourgogne-Franche-Comté, le ministère de la culture et de la communication (DRAC Bourgogne-Franche-Comté) et le conseil départemental de l’Yonne.

Télécharger la biographie d’Arsys Bourgogne 2017